Loading Events

« All Events

King Lear by William Shakespeare

Date:
Friday, July 22nd
Time:
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Website:
www.IllinoisShakes.com

Event Description

Join us for the 45th Anniversary Season of the Illinois Shakespeare Festival!

SYNOPSIS

Strained relations between a father and his daughters are at the core of Shakespeare’s explosive tragedy, King Lear. In this tale of intimate family drama and political manipulation, an aged leader at the height of his power and influence, loses his grip on position, power, family, and sanity when hubris and ego trump love and loyalty. Lear examines the most basic questions of human existence and is considered one the most powerful dramas in Western literature.

DATES

Preview:
Friday, July 8 at 8 p.m.

Performances:
Saturday, July 9 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 10 at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 14 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, July 15 at 8 p.m.
Tuesday, July 19 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, July 22 at 8 p.m.
Wednesday, July 27 at 7:30 p.m. (ASL-Interpreted Performance)
Saturday, July 30 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, July 31 at 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, August 4 at 7:30 p.m.

Will include a 15-minute intermission.

If you will need special accommodations, please contact the event organizer.

Organizer

Illinois Shakespeare Festival
Phone:
(309) 438-2535
Email:
shake@IllinoisState.edu
Website:
http://IllinoisShakes.com/

Venue

Ewing Theatre
48 Sunset Rd.
Bloomington, IL
Phone:
309-438-2535
Website:
IllinoisShakes.com