Loading Events

« All Events

Measure for Measure by William Shakespeare

Date:
Friday, July 16th
Time:
8:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Cost:
$25
Website:
www.IllinoisShakes.com

Event Description

Measure for Measure

by William Shakespeare

SYNOPSIS

Vienna is in an uproar as Angelo, the Duke’s surrogate, enforces a strict moral code on sex. But Angelo is unable to abide by his own standards and uses his power to compel Isabella to exchange her chastity for her brother Claudio’s life. Set in a disjointed urban world where convents and brothels stand side by side, Shakespeare speaks to our current climate through this story about justice, morality, and mercy.

PERFORMANCES

Run Time: Approximately 2.5 hours with intermission.

Friday, July 9, 2021 at 8 p.m. – Preview Performance 

Saturday, July 10, 2021 at 8 p.m.  – Opening Night Performance 

Sunday, July 11, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Thursday, July 15, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Friday, July 16, 2021 at 8 p.m. 

Sunday, July 18, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Tuesday, July 20, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Saturday, July 24, 2021 at 8 p.m. 

Wednesday, July 28, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Thursday, July 29, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Friday, July 30, 2021 at 8 p.m. 

Tuesday, August 3, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

Thursday, August 5, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 

MORE INFORMATION

Measure for Measure is part of the 2021 summer season of the Illinois Shakespeare Festival. For more information on the Festival, please visit the links below:

ISF WEBSITE

BUY TICKETS

VIEW THE CALENDAR

PLAN YOUR VISIT

EDUCATION

GIVING

WORK WITH US

ABOUT US

If you will need special accommodations, please contact the event organizer.

Organizer

Illinois Shakespeare Festival
Phone:
(309) 438-2535
Email:
shake@IllinoisState.edu
Website:
http://IllinoisShakes.com/

Venue

Ewing Cultural Center
48 Sunset Road
Bloomington, IL
Phone:
(309) 438-6333
Website:
http://ewingmanor.illinoisstate.edu