Loading Events

« All Events

The Winter’s Tale by William Shakespeare

Date:
Sunday, August 1st
Time:
7:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Cost:
$25
Website:
www.IllinoisShakes.com

Event Description

The Winter’s Tale

by William Shakespeare

SYNOPSIS

King Leontes of Sicilia is plagued by an irrational suspicion that Queen Hermione is having an affair with his childhood friend, Polixenes. Leontes lashes out in fury, causing death and destruction in the royal family. Convinced that his newborn daughter Perdita is Polixenes’ child, Leontes banishes her to the Bohemian wilderness, expecting the worst. Yet Perdita survives, holding the key to Leontes’ redemption after 16 long years. Can the remorseful king be forgiven for his past mistakes?

PERFORMANCES

Run Time: Approximately 2.5 hours with intermission.

Preview: Friday, July 2, 2021 8 p.m. – Preview Performance

Opening Night: Saturday, July 3, 2021 8 p.m. – Opening Night Performance

Tuesday, July 13, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 17, 2021 at 8 p.m.

Wednesday, July 21, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, July 22, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Friday, July 23, 2021 at 8 p.m.

Sunday, July 25, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, July 27, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 31, 2021 at 8 p.m.

Sunday, August 1, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, August 4, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.

Friday, August 6, 2021 at 8 p.m.

MORE INFORMATION

The Winter’s Tale is part of the 2021 summer season of the Illinois Shakespeare Festival. For more information on the Festival, please visit the links below:

ISF WEBSITE

BUY TICKETS

VIEW THE CALENDAR

PLAN YOUR VISIT

EDUCATION

GIVING

WORK WITH US

ABOUT US

If you will need special accommodations, please contact the event organizer.

Organizer

Illinois Shakespeare Festival
Phone:
(309) 438-2535
Email:
shake@IllinoisState.edu
Website:
http://IllinoisShakes.com/

Venue

Ewing Cultural Center
48 Sunset Road
Bloomington, IL
Phone:
(309) 438-6333
Website:
http://ewingmanor.illinoisstate.edu