Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Wind Symphony Concert

Wednesday, April 6, 8:00 pm10:00 pm

$6 – $10

Please join the Illinois State University Wind Symphony on Wednesday, April 6, 2022 for the fourth concert of the 2021/2022 concert season. The concert will welcome a full live audience and is the first engagement of our 2022 Performance Tour that includes an invited performance at the 2022 College Band Directors National Association North Central Region Conference at The University of Wisconsin-Madison. You can learn more about our performance tour via the following website:  https://finearts.illinoisstate.edu/bands/wind-symphony-tour/

The concert opens with New York-based composer Anthony Barfield’s Invictus for brass ensemble. The piece, meaning “unconquered,” is a short work about New York City in its current circumstances. It’s about dealing with the heightened sense of uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and the Black Lives Matter protests. New York is resilient, courageous, and adaptable. Invictus is meant to show that, despite these troublesome times, we are in fact unconquerable.

We are excited to welcome Illinois State University Associate Professor of Music Dr. Roy Magnuson as we perform his piece the softest breath. The piece was written to memorialize the music and teaching of David Maslanka, a composer with a strong connection to the people of the Illinois State University School of Music.

Assistant Professor-Artist of Horn Dr. Rachel Hockenberry will perform Catherine Likhuta’s Vivid Dreams for low horn and wind ensemble. The piece is an imaginative tapestry of episodes that showcase the powerful low end of the horn.

The Wind Symphony is excited to present a new critical edition of Adolphus Hailstork’s American Guernica. The piece was written in remembrance of the September 15, 1963, fire-bombing of the 16th Street Baptist Church in Birmingham, Alabama, a racially motivated bombing that killed four young girls attending Sunday school. Hailstork’s score employs spatial notation and extended techniques to recount the bombing, outrage, and aftermath of the American tragedy.

The concert will conclude Chicago-based composer James Stephenson’s Symphony No. 2: Voices. Commissioned by the President’s Own United States Marine Band and conductor Lieutenant Colonel Jason K. Fettig. The three movement work is a tour-de-force for the modern wind ensemble.


Anthony Barfield (b. 1983) – Invictus (2020)

Roy Magnuson (b. 1983) – the softest breath (2019)

Roy Magnuson, guest composer

Catherine Likhuta (b. 1981) – Vivid Dreams (2018/2020)

I. Cradle in the Forest
II. Octopus
III. Urban Secrets

Dr. Rachel Hockenberry, horn


Adolphus Hailstork, ed. Levine (b. 1941) – American Guernica (1982/2008)

James Stephenson (b. 1969) – Symphony No. 2 (2016)

I. Prelude: “Of Passion”
II. Shouts and Murmurs
III. Of One

For additional information contact Dr. Tony Marinello (309) 438-1702

To purchase tickets



Wednesday, April 6
8:00 pm – 10:00 pm
$6 – $10


Center for the Performing Arts
351 S. School Street
Normal, IL 61761 United States